Hi all!

guitar.jpgBecause my internet connection was temporarily out of order I couldn’t update my blog. But it is fixed now so I am looking forward to telling you all about the past few weeks. First of all I have to do as I promised. Tell you about the English school system and explain what assembly is (if you look at the pictures you can at least see what assembly looks like). First the English school system.

Education in England is divided into: primary, secondary, further and higher education. Compulsory education lasts for 11 years; statutory schooling ages are between 5 and 16 years. Children are legally required to start attending school at the start of the term after their fifth birthday either on 31 August, 31 December or 31 March, however children often start earlier than this. Pupils are required to stay in school until the last Friday in June of the school year in which they reach 16 years of age.

Pupils in compulsory education follow the National Curriculum. The National Curriculum is divided into four Key Stages

Key Stage 1: 5 to 7 years old

Key Stage 2: 7 to 11 years old

Key Stage 3: 11 to 14 years old

Key Stage 4: 14 to 16 years old

Assembly is done throughout these years. It is done everyday and it is against the law not to. It is also compulsory for the schools to do something religious during assembly. Either in the form of a hymne or a prayer.

I have to teach now so I’ll try to write something this afternoon.

Ciao,

 G

Explore posts in the same categories: England

Leave a comment